Contact Us: 01743 852100
[email protected]

Real Family Holiday Reviews 2015

Families who visited us in 2015 have left their comments and ratings of their holidays

Real Family Holiday Scottish Highland 2015 Reviews:

4 Star PicKindrogan was our first Real Family Holiday and it was brilliant. The accomodation was a bit dated and not having our own toilet wasn't ideal, however the activities and food more than made up for that. Best activities for us were raft building, shelter building and low ropes. Recommend taking a good midge repellant as we were put off the hill climb bacause of the swarms! (Scottish Highlands, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a fabulous FSC holiday at Kindrogan in summer 2015. We weren't quite sure what to expect. But, the accommodation was good, the guides were great and we thoroughly enjoyed all the activities. We also thought the kitchen staff did a super job of catering for the large numbers with sensible tasty food and puddings. We'll be back! (Scottish Highlands, August 2015)

3 Star PicWe enjoyed an overnight stay in August. Children were very excited about surroundings and loved the activities on offer. We particularly enjoyed the low ropes, crate climbing and watching in the hide for the pine martins. Loved sitting in and around the old library at night enjoying a quiet drink. Staff were all absolutely lovely. Accommodation was very basic, but comfortable. Would have liked an ensuite room. A great, fun adventure. (Scottish Highlands, August 2015)

  4 Star PicOur first Real Family Holiday - a great success for all. Thoroughly enjoyed the activities and looking forward to see what other centres are available next year. (Scottish Islands, August 2015)

Real Family Holiday Scottish Islands 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicArrived in Millport on a beautiful sunny day,. Accommodation was wonderful. Brand new ensure rooms, lovely white crisp linen and towels. Really friendly helpful staff. Excellent food, in dining hall. We were at the centre during bio blitz, and our boys enjoyed participating in the insect classification. At night we were invited on a bat walk. Everyone was so friendly, interested and welcoming. A great stay. (Scottish Islands, July 2015)

5 Star PicAfter last year's brilliant holiday, I brought a friend and her kids with me this time and tried a different location. Fantastic accommodation and great activities - a very different holiday but just as fun! Would highly recommend! (Scottish Islands, July 2015)

5 Star PicWe had 5 nights at Millport on the island of Cumbrae - we loved it, the accommodation was fantastic with great views and comfy beds, the food was great (and such a luxury not to be self catering - I really looked forward to finding out what was for dinner) The activities were good fun and the staff very friendly and so helpful. We met lots of other families and all got on well. So pleased that the FSC have managed to save the marine research centre and it's great to open it up to families as well as students. Fab value for money and we hope to do another one next year. (Scottish Islands, July 2015)

5 Star PicExcellent value, service and attention from all staff. (Scottish Islands, July 2015)

5 Star PicThis was our second Real Family Holiday and had a lot to live up to after the amazing time we had at Kindrogan in 2014. Millport in 2015 did just that, our family of four (2 adults and 2 ten year olds) had a fantastic time and enjoyed taking part in a wide range of activities including snorkelling, bug hunting and beach art. The new en-suite accommodation was lovely, the food excellent and plentiful The FSC staff and particularly the instructors were fantastic. (Scottish Islands, July 2015)

5 Star PicAnother excellent holiday from FSC! (Scottish Islands, July 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a lovely time and are looking forward to our next holiday soon. The tutors were so enthusiastic and cheerful and the activities were as much fun for our daughter as it was for us.. Thank you ever so much and keep up the good work. The rooms , the food and the facilities were great too!! (Scottish Islands, July 2015)

 

Real Family Holiday Lake District 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicOur family were fortunate enough to spend a few days at Blencathra Field Studies Centre with Real Family Holidays. As per the previous year the staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. The centre is well located for walking or trips out to other venues in the Lake District, though the kids would happily stay in as it had a great atmosphere and a good games room, along with free flowing tea/coffee/juice. There were a number of free activities (often more than one session per day) and the opportunity to take part in some paid activities, but these are completely optional and not 'sold' to you. The food is good and the holiday could not be beat as regards value for money. We're already planning our next trip! (Lake District, August 2015)

5 Star PicThank you for a fantastic holiday again. The accommodation was wonderful- great views, friendly staff, delicious food and great facilities. We will definitely be back. (Lake District, August 2015)

5 Star PicGreat views, great location, really enjoyed the gill scramble. (Lake District, August 2015)

 

Real Family Holiday Yorkshire Dales 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicOur very first stay with FSC and couldn't be happier. Both, I, my husband and son age 12 have a fantastic time. Very impressed with the location, accommodation, food and activities. All staff members who we met were very helpful and jolly - really couldn't of asked for a better holiday. And the weather was good too! (Yorkshire Dales, August 2015)

5 Star PicThe whole holiday was fantastic, very well organised, excellent value for money, brilliant and varied activities, good, quality food and an amazing setting, we would definitely recommend it and are considering booking for next year. Our only slight niggle was that the bar opened at 9pm, it is nice to relax with other guests and have a drink but after a hectic day of walking good distances and exploring, 9pm is sometimes a little bit too adventurous against tiredness! (Yorkshire Dales, August 2015)

4 Star PicIdeal place children under the age of 11. Hot food basic but nutritional, good selection of sandwich fillings, with an abundance of cakes & fresh fruit. Hot tea & coffee available at all times. Accommodation basic but in need of update & repairs (damp & mouldy smell in bathroom). Staff were absolutely great, friendly & informative... Ideal chilling bar area that was open a couple of hours for a night cap.. Our 14 year old found the free WiFi a bonus, as she was in her words bored!! We would recommend this for people who like to walk, as this place is a great base, as it is on te Pennine Way route... if anyone was to ask is to rate this out of 10, we would rate it 8 & we would more than likely return,although without the teenager!!! Thank you (Yorkshire Dales, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe've recently had a great holiday at the Malham Tarn centre with Real Family Holidays. This was our first visit to this site and the staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. Although fairly remote we found the road out towards Settle was easier to drive and so had a few trips out. It's worth keeping a copy of the directions handy as there are points where signage suggests you should not proceed (the centre is leased from the National Trust so you can only access it if staying there). The free on site activities were fantastic (often lasting 2 hours) and included some that were a little unusual - such as small mammal trapping (in humane traps, with release the following day). The accommodation itself is split across 3 buildings, with the North Wing across a small courtyard from the main house, and the High Stables less than 5 minutes walk away though it's up a slope so worth knowing if you've someone who is less mobile with you. Our room in the North Wing wasn't as spacious as we thought it would be from the Virtual Tour on the website. It was quite small with only a skylight, though it did at least have en-suite facilities which were a bonus. I think it's worth knowing as it changes 'expectations' but it wasn't a major issue as we spent little time there and preferred the main house with it's common rooms - and constant supply of cake, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. It was fantastic value for money and we're currently looking at centres (including Malham) for our next holiday. (Yorkshire Dales, August 2015)

5 Star PicAn excellent, good value visit to a truly inspiring location. The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledge, a good range of activities were provided and accommodation and food was great. This is our second Real Family Holiday at Malham Tarn. We will be back for more. (Yorkshire Dales, August 2015)

4 Star PicA lovely location with wonderful walking opportunities. My children were so proud that they managed to walk to Malham Cove and back. The food was good quality. Less choice than when we stayed at Orielton but the staff were happy to provide something different on the one occasion it was something my children did not like. The accommodation was quiet in the evenings. The only downside for us was that we travelled by train so could only participate in activities provided. Unlike Orielton, there were no extra activities that could be paid for at Malham, so this is worth bearing in mind if you are not going with a car. My girls had a great time and are already asking which place we can try next year. (Yorkshire Dales, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a fantastic time at Malham Tarn in August 2015. The centre staff were very helpful and enthusiastic, and our sons (3 and 6) enjoyed all the activities as well as 'free play' den building in the grounds. I would recommend this to anyone with a child aged 5-10 who loves being outdoors. We were also lucky with the weather which definitely helps! (Yorkshire Dales, 2015)

5 Star PicOur very first stay with FSC and couldn't be happier. Both, I, my husband and son age 12 have a fantastic time. Very impressed with the location, accommodation, food and activities. All staff members who we met were very helpful and jolly - really couldn't of asked for a better holiday. And the weather was good too! (Yorkshire Dales, August 2015)

 

Real Family Holiday Snowdonia 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicWhat a fantastic holiday we had, we found the staff helpful and friendly, the fellow visitors good company, but it was the location that was the highlight. Highly recommended. (Snowdonia, August 2015)

5 Star PicCan't believe we packed so much into one week! Both kids (3 and 7) thoroughly loved it, as did the adults :-)  (Snowdonia, August 2015)

5 Star PicFSC Rhyd y Creuau was a fabulous location for our second Real Family Holiday. The kids loved the activities especially finding out what lived in the river.The food was delicious and wholesome and the staff so friendly and helpful. Thanks for another unforgettable summer holiday. (Snowdonia, August 2015)

4 Star PicWe had a lovely time again this year. We were disappointed that there weren't any extra activities this time, although it was explained you had a low take-up last year, so it was understandable. The only criticism we have is about the apparent randomness of the room allocation. I know there's no guarantee of an en-suite room, but we did find it a bit annoying that a family with 2 teenagers had an en-suite, whereas we as a family with 2 younger children didn't, which meant we had to escort them to the toilet all the time as they couldn't manage the heavy fire doors. We probably wouldn't have minded too much, were it not for the fact that we booked our holiday last October to make sure we didn't miss out, while the other family didn't book till the last minute, but we were all staying on the same dates so presumably it would have been possible to swap the rooms around. Other than that (and a few more coat hangers, we only had 3!) everything was fine. We will definitely be booking again next year, although we'll probably choose a different location just for a change! (Snowdonia, August 2015)

5 Star PicAnother amazing holiday. The activities were brilliant led by superb staff. Thank you (Snowdonia, August 2015)

5 Star PicA fantastic family holiday at a very reasonable price. The morning activities were great fun and got us working together as a family. The food was fantastic with a much better choice than we expected. The bedrooms and facilities were all clean. The children enjoyed playing in the games room and watching films in the common room. Whereas, we enjoyed the quiet of the adult common room. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We definitely plan to go on another Real Family Holiday. (Snowdonia, August 2015)

5 Star PicFabulous holiday - kids cant wait to return. Staff all so lovely. Food was fab. Complete rest for me as a Single Mum! Lovely area with wonderful walks locally. (Snowdonia, August 2015)

 

Real Family Holiday Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicI cannot rate this holiday highly enough! It was really relaxing but thoroughly engaging. The whole family enjoyed itself. The staff were awesome too and took very good care of us all. I am waiting eagerly for October so I know where we'll be going next year! THANK YOU!  (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

3 Star PicGood. Bedroom to sleep three was very small. Staff were welcoming. . Food was ok but there was no choice. Some people ended up having a jacket potato over a number of nights. Kitchen seemed understaffed with one member of staff appearing very stretched! Packed lunch options were really good providing plenty of choice. Activities were good and pitched well for all ages. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star PicFantastic location with excellent views. Comfortable accommodation with superb food. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star PicI thought that the holiday was great! The bedroom facilities were better than we expected, the food was plentiful, and the field course that we went on was interesting and well run. The staff were friendly and helpful. The centre is in beautiful grounds, and well located 15 minutes walk from a picturesque village. We were lucky in that the weather was fantastic while we were there, I don't know how much there would be to do in the rain. Overall, it was incredible value, and we all had a good time. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star PicAs a family with an eight and a four year old we are limited to choice of suitable holidays within budget. Real family holidays offer the perfect solution to those who want a family holiday, in the great outdoors, with lots of wonderful opportunities for the whole family to explore, investigate, have fun and relax. Our accommodation was clean, spacious & perfect for a family with sandy socks and wet towels. We had our own en suite shower too! The good provided was home cooked, locally sourced, plentiful and delicious, and all prepared and served by friendly & helpful staff. The lunch arrangement was perfect with more fillings than a well known foot long sandwich company, fresh fruit and home baked cakes, allowing us to go out for days on the beach fully stocked with a scrummy lunch in our ruck sack. The activities were varied and fun, our son loved the crabbing competition in Dale. The location is truly magnificent, stunning views, a wealth of history and nature at your fingertips in an environment which is informal and welcoming. It is amazing value for money and we would recommend it to any family who want to spend time together doing something a little different. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

"i loving it so far we've arrived today 3/8/15 from Alex aged 8" (Dalefort, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star Picthe road leading into the Fort is very narrow and was a bit of a struggle. Food is satisfying. (Dalefort, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star Pic  This was an absolutely brilliant holiday. We couldn't fault it, the accommodation was clean, warm and private with excellent facilities. The Food was brilliant too and the kitchen staff were extremely helpful. We all (parents and three children) came away with lovely memories and were looking forward to booking again. (DaleFort, Pembrokeshire, April 2015)

4 Star Pic  We had a fantastic time away at Dale Fort. The accommodation was comfortable, in line with expectations for the type of place we were staying at. The food was lovely, a varied menu at dinner each day, and breakfast and lunch had a good selection of choices available. The staff were friendly and attentive and happy to help with enquiries. We had such a lovely time away, I can't wait to go again and try a different place. (Dalefort, Pembrokeshire, April 2015)

 

Real Family Holiday Orielton, Pembrokeshire 2015 Reviews:

4 Star PicLoved this location, wanted to go to Pembrokeshire for ages, loads to see & do in the area, nearest neighbours were the cows next door, the wooded grounds here are great for a stroll in the evening, the food was really tasty, we had a good week here. (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a really memorable holiday.  A real five star holiday without the five star price tag. It couldn't have been better value. If you are looking for ensuite rooms and room service this maybe isn't for you but couldn't beat the location which was beautiful and peaceful but with plenty to do on-site and nearby and the food was really delicious. Our room had bunk beds and a sink and was clean and had everything you need.  The shower and toilets were near by and downstairs there were games rooms for the kids, a family sitting room and an adult only sitting room. Our only complaint was having to worry about if we had enough room left after breakfast, lunch and dinner to fit in the home cake in the afternoon and a trip to the tuck shop!

The staff were friendly and welcoming and the activities were fun and were timed nicely for the mornings or evenings so you could get out and about during the day.  The kids enjoyed getting to know some new friends and it was nice to have some adult company to do a little bit of competitive pond dipping with! 

There was even a waterproof room from which you could loan waterproofs - Hopefully you won't need them but they came in handy for our trip to Skomer ! Having said that even the damp and a choppy boat trip couldn't spoil an amazing day.

We would recommend real family holidays to anyone and challenge anyone to find a better value holiday. We went to Pembrokeshire and could happily have stayed another week  and would love to go back.  We met people who had been to other centres which they also said were worth a visit and were already talking about another Real Family Holiday in the car on the way home.

Our only disappointment was that we forgot to buy the RFH baking book from the tuck shop so that we could replicate all the fantastic cakes the brilliant kitchen staff provided when we got home!  Thanks for  great week!

(Orielton, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star PicWhat a fantastic week. We loved the house and its beautiful grounds, the house was really well equipped with indoor and outdoor space. Rooms were basic but comfy. The staff were all amazing... Catering was magnificent and activities were run with a huge enthusiasm and professionalism. Staff had an excellent local knowledge and gave great suggestions for things to do in the local area. Thanks orielton for a great family holiday! (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, July 2015)

5 Star PicThe food was lovely. As the kids went to bed late breakfast until 9.30am would have been great as we missed it twice. Fabulous holiday otherwise (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

4 Star PicWe visited Orielton with a family of 3 children ages 4 - 12 years old. The FSC had thought through meeting the needs of everyone in the family. Activities were daily and accessible to everyone. Food was provided for all meals with lunch being a picnic you put together courtesy of FSC. Sitting rooms for families and one for adults was much appreciated. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The grounds were stunning. I would definitely recommend Real Family Holidays at Orielton. (Pembrokeshire, July 2015)

4 Star PicOur second holiday with FSC and again excellent. A lovely location with fun activities and pleasant helpfull and knowledgeable staff. Children had the freedom to explore the extensive grounds freely and the house offered a comfortable base to relax. A great location to explore the fabulous Pembroke coast. (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, July 2015)

5 Star PicWe have really enjoyed our holiday at Orielton,Pembrokeshire! The kids made new friends, the ease of having all of your meals made for you was excellent and the staff were superb! We found the activities very well prepared and really nice, unusual and engaging! The leaders were lovely, very kind and encouraging! The food was good and we can't complain about the choices or taste. Maybe breakfast could be improving by adding few more hot options, but really you can get full by all the other choices you were given. The evening meals were very good, and the kitchen staff were excellent! Our room was full of bunk beds, so the kids could do musical beds every night:) Showers and toilets were spotless and great, very near our room. Our bedroom had a view of field with cows, so that's lovely as well. We are looking forward for next year and hoping to book the Devon Start Bay location! (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, July 2015)

 4 Star PicAmazing centre. Fantastic Manor House with communal space and large outdoor space for children to play and explore. The activities were very good. The location was great for exploring Pembrokeshire and the many good beaches. Food was standard. We had expected more after our previous holiday. (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, August 2015)

5 Star PicFood is satisfying (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, July 2015)

Real Family Holiday Somerset 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicNettlecombe is set in a really lovely area. Staff were really knowledgable and great with the children. Some really lovely family activities were planned and the food was fantastic. Thanks for another great family holiday. (Somerset, August 2015)

5 Star PicOur second holiday with Real Family Holidays and again we thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was excellent, the staff wonderful, the building spotless, and we especially loved the FSC excursions and activities - more of these, please! The only thing we weren't keen on was our bedroom as it was very old-fashioned with no hanging space, shelves or hooks for our things, just one small set of drawers. One of the mattresses also had loose springs that poked your back but fortunately we were able to swap it for another and reported it to the staff. Overall though we had a fantastic time and we can't wait to book again next year :D (Somerset, August 2015)

5 Star PicExcellent value, service and attention from all staff. Please can you install some bike racks. A fantastic venue with all activities on site - the kids absolutely loved it and had a geat time with all the other children.(Nettlecombe Court, Somerset, 2015)

5 Star PicThis was our second Real Family Holiday and just like last year, we had an absolutely wonderful time - very highly recommended. Stunning location, plentiful freshly cooked food, great activities and an incredible organisation to support. We spent much of the week pondering about which holiday to book next year! (Somerset, August 2015)

 

Real Family Holiday Box Hill, Surrey 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicGreat staff, great activities, great food (Box Hill, Surrey, April 2016)

5 Star PicExcellent fun for the children. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2015)

5 Star PicBrilliant location with staff that went above and beyond to ensure everyone's comfort and enjoyment. Our boys wanted to be outside with their new friends from dawn til dusk, they didn't request an electronic device all week and we didn't have to spend a penny on artificial entertainment. Back to nature at its very best. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2015)

4 Star PicHad a great time. Very good value for money. Really enjoyed the activities and the children also loved the space, freedom and making new friends. Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. Lovely food and plentiful! Good balance between organised activities and free time. Juniper Hall was in a lovely location with lots of other places of interest nearby. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2015)

5 Star PicI had a fantastic holiday. As a single parent I really appreciated not having to do any cooking, washing up or thinking about what to do each day - so it was a completely relaxing holiday for me. My children (girl aged 9 and boy aged 10) really enjoyed the activities - but they are porbably at the upper age range in terms of suitability. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience, which I would recommend. (Box Hill, Surrey, 2015)

5 Star PicHad the most amazing time at Juniper hall with my granddaughter. Great value good accommodation food and very helpful staff. Fantastic activities and beautiful grounds. we wished we could have stayed longer and hope to return to Juniper hall next year for a longer stay. Thankyou (Box Hill, Surrey, 2015)

5 Star PicWe really enjoyed our holiday at Juniper Hall. We are hoping to stay at another location next year for our real family holiday. There was lots for the children to do. It was very good value for money and lots of fun. The staff were able to cater activities for bad weather. The food was good too. Only negative was running out of wool for the bee making! Thanks for a great hols (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2015)

4 Star PicOverall, we enjoyed our 7 night stay at Real Family Holidays. The facilities at Juniper Hall were rather dated and tired and we felt that this really did prevent us from otherwise giving the holiday a 5-star rating. The bedroom was quiet and clean but not having a wardrobe or chair to sit on did make it feel rather claustrophobic. The Centre Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Food was very good, plentiful, always hot and served with a smile! My daughter is a picky eater and she was pleased to find that the staff made sure she had something to eat every day! Having the ability to make hot drinks whenever we wanted was nice. The day-time organised activities were aimed at a younger age range than my two children (12 and 14), having said that they did enjoy the shelter building, orienteering and survival skills. I am sure that it would not take much to develop the activities to cater for a greater age range to include older children. The participants were split into at least 3 groups as the numbers were large and so I believe it would be easy to have a variation on the activity. Night times were very much what you made of them. To aid this I think that the bar opening times should have been extended. The bar was only normally open between 9 pm and 10 pm, but was the focal point in the evenings for parents of older children. The area surrounding Juniper Hall was lovely and did offer a fair choice for days out exploring within a half hour drive. We visited Thorpe Park, Guildford Lido, and Hampton Court Palace as well as Box Hill and Dorking for shopping. We would book again next year. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a wonderful holiday at Juniper Hall. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and the tutors were really engaging and informative. Particular highlights for our family were the shelter building, bush craft skills, campfire and orienteering activities. The children loved playing in the grounds with their new friends and it was lovely as adults to be able to relax a bit on holiday whilst the children were having fun roaming around in a very safe way. The grounds of Box Hill are stunning and we enjoyed many an evening walk up to the top. I couldn't believe how good the food was! There was so much variety and so much of it. The children loved cake at 4 pm. The rooms were basic and small but very clean. As you would expect for the price. Overall excellent value for a memorable family holiday. We will definitely be booking again next year. (Box Hill, Surrey, 2015)

 5 Star PicThis was our first Real Family Holiday. Brilliant. Loved it. Kids asked straight away 'when can we do this again' (Box Hill, Surrey, 2015)

 

5 Star PicThis was our first visit on a Real family holidays and I picked the closest venue to home as I wasnt sure what it would be like. We were absolutely won over, from our arrival and seeing the goats and chickens even with 2 fire Alarms on the first night we had a brilliant holiday. We enjoyed all of the included activities and signed up for all of the additional ones as well, we had one wet day but we all split up, some going to Guildford but we not to Dorking to go to the cinema, we made some wonderful friends and the children played for hours running after each other and making happy kids noises. The adult room was a lovely space with the addition of the honesty bar was a relax for all. I would recommend the food the staff and the accommodation , it made me feel young and back at school sleeping in bunk beds!!!! (Box Hill, Surrey, 2015)

5 Star PicI had a fantastic holiday. As a single parent I really appreciated not having to do any cooking, washing up or thinking about what to do each day - so it was a completely relaxing holiday for me. My children (girl aged 9 and boy aged 10) really enjoyed the activities - but they are probably at the upper age range in terms of suitability. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience, which I would recommend. Box Hill, August 2015)

Real Family Holiday Devon 2015 Reviews:

5 Star PicGreat time - we really enjoyed our 5 nights.  The food was fantastic and plentiful, the activities were fun, the staff were wonderful.  The sun even shone most of the time.  Thank you for a great family holiday which was good value (Start Bay, Devon, February 2016)

5 Star PicAmazing value holiday. The children loved the daily activities, and they were just the right level and duration. Your staff are all so welcoming and the food plentiful and delicious. Really impressed by everything, and would definitely stay again. A really wonderful family holiday. thank you! (Start Bay, Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a brilliant holiday! Lovely atmosphere at the accommodation, it is a small Centre so just a few other families there. Our daughter enjoyed playing with all the other children, especially on the excellent adventure playground in the garden. We enjoyed looking at the pond life and will be buying our own copies of the FSC identification guides - some of them, at least! And the catering is wonderful; hearty breakfasts, good dinners and plenty of tea and cake. Daughter did not want to leave, so I have promised we will go again next year. (Start Bay, Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a wonderful time, my 3 year old now wants to live there :) Fantastic food and a great chance to make new friends. Thank you for a fabulous holiday! See you next year! (Start Bay, Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicExcellent. Staff were really welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. Start Bay centre clean and comfortable. Food was excellent. Fresh and plenty of choice. Activities were good and pitched well for all ages. (Start Bay, Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicWe had a fantastic time. Beautiful location, fabulous activities and great food. Perfect for my 4 & 6 year old. (Start Bay, Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicExcellent location, friendly staff and fabulous home cooked food - what more could we want! The centre was lovely, the garden and low ropes and table tennis were a real hit with my daughter. We enjoyed our group activity, which was also a great opportunity to meet others staying at the centre. The accommodation was simple and clean and did the job. Ideal for me as a single parent, cheap, sociable and everything taken care of - no cooking or shopping involved. Would highly recommend to others. (Start Bay, Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicStayed at Slapton Ley for the full week, see comments above. (Start Bay, Devon, 2015)

 5 Star PicExcellent value, service and attention from all staff.Please can you install some bike racks and think about sustainable transport (empty minibuses travelling to activities when others also drove). Food absolutely fabulous and locally sourced. (Slapton Ley, Devon, 2015)

4 Star PicAgain, another unbelievably excellent value for money holiday with the emphasis firmly on spending quality time together as a family doing some wonderful natural/outdoor activities. These holidays are vital to enabling families to have a quality break during school holidays. As a family of 5 we cannot afford to holiday during school holidays without the Real Family Holiday Scheme and strongly support the ethos of exploring nature as a fun educational tool! Unfortunately lost one star this year as the communication, accommodation and food not to the same standard as last year's holiday in Snowdon. Our room was upstairs furthest away from the downstairs bathrooms. Having 3 boys (age 6, 9 and 11) this was not good, seems backwards that a family of 2 get an en-suite shower rather than a family of 5! Also very hard for the adults to relax as nowhere comfortable for them to go. Having said that, I will continue to tell everyone I meet about the FSC Real Family Holidays and we are already planning where to stay next year. We really hope the Real Family Holidays continue long past the 3 year planned pilot! (Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicThe whole family loved this holiday! I haven't had a holiday for a long long time where I have been able to relax knowing my children are playing nicely, making friends while I can spend time making new friends myself. What a great treat to have our meals cooked for us. The food was amazing and Steph, Shaun and Kate looked after us amazingly. Everything was thought of down to a final night 'party' with BBQ, fire and marshmallows. We really enjoyed the activities too and were impressed with the leadership of the staff. One leader rallied us all pirate style in the pouring rain! Hope to keep in contact with the friends we made and to come again!! (Devon, July 2015)

4 Star PicWonderful location and friendly space where all families got to know eachother. Fantastic outdoor space for children. Activities were good but we did feel a little left out from the other centre. (Devon, August 2015)

5 Star PicA beautiful centre in a lovely location. Fabulous food, I love the option of a salad pot rather than a bread based lunch. The bat walk was very much enjoyed by the whole family. A really great holiday that we hope to visit again. (Devon, August 2015)

 

See Real Family Holiday 2016 reviews

See Real Family Holiday 2014 reviews

About customer reviews

Leave your review

Book Your Trip