2018 Bookings are opening on

1st December 2017

Real Family Holiday Reviews 2016

Families who visited us in 2016 have left their comments and ratings of their holidays

Real Family Holiday Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire 2016 Reviews:

5 Star PicWhat a wonderful place and lovely staff and food, what more could you want, we will be back. Thank you for giving us a fantastic holiday. My children loved every second and are badgering us to go back. So glad I found you, what you offer is the perfect holiday break for my family. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, April 2016)

 4 Star PicThe location was great and we did some fantastic walking from the centre without using the car. The room was good and the food was good although not as much choice as other FSC's we have been to. The family room was taken over by a lot of unmanaged children - not the fault of the FSC but more the lack of parental control. We found a quiet classroom to sit in for our 2 families which was fine. We really like real family holidays and this our third. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, April 2016)

 5 Star PicWe had a fantastic time at Dale Fort this summer. The location of the centre could not be better- beautiful beaches just minutes away and the Pembrokeshire coastal path passing the door. We stayed at Dale Fort for a week with our two children - Boy 14 and Girl 15. At first they felt they were a little old for this type of holiday but once they hooked up with other teens they were happy to head off to the beach, play pool or sit at the jetty chatting. The week we were there the children ages ranged from 2-15yrs. There were a complete mixture of families too. The facilities at the Fort were good- Common room with games, pool table and TV, bar, adult lounge, library with local maps and computer access, sports equipment (cricket set, football etc) that could be loaned and a small field. The food was OK/good. My son loved it as it was quite plain- cottage pie, homemade pizza, quiche etc. At times the dining hall was very busy, if you went a little later food was often luke warm. This was our only niggle. The pack lunch was excellent with lots of choice and homemade cakes/cookies...not a crisp or a chocolate bar in sight! The activities and staff were great. We loved going out on the RIB; this was a great activity for teens. It was also good to have experts with us to do the sea-shore safari. I never knew seaweed could be so interesting or I would be identifying different types of anemones after just an hour! AS a family we made the most of the local area. The water sports in Dale village (10 mins walk) were excellent. We visited Picton Casle and St Davids, otherwise the car stayed in the car park and we walked to the beaches in Marloes and West Dale. The best beach, and our find of the holiday, was the beach at Watwick Bay -25 mins walk from the Fort along the coastal path. You will not find a better beach in the world... golden sand and turquoise water surrounded by the beautiful Pembrokeshire coastline. A fantastic holiday- we were also blessed with 7 days of sunshine, so we returned home with great tans too! (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

4 Star PicWe thought the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and spacey, we liked the library with local maps laid out. The position of the fort was spectacular and it was great to walk to local"secret" bays and down to Dale for crabbing and fishing trips.We found the outside space difficult for our family as the boys were perhaps spoilt by the great grounds at Orielton, where they were able to have more freedom and make friends. We found the rockpool safari really enjoyable, the staff were fantastic, telling us all about the creatures we had caught.The adult lounge was clean and comfy, the children's room would have benefited from a separate games room and no piano!There was nowhere for the kids to watch tv quietly.Breakfast was good,provisions for lunch excellent but we were disappointed by the quality of the evening meal,compared especially with our 2 stays at Rhyd y creuau where the food was amazing. Overall thank you for another great holiday which could only have been improved with a better quality supper and reorganisation of the children's areas. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

4 Star PicAmazing location with fantastic walks from the centre to local beaches. We really enjoyed the family games. Not as much communal space as other centres. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

4 Star PicFood portions could be larger, for the first time on an FSC holiday we felt hungry occasionally. Activities were fun, especially the crabbing :) Beds were probably the most comfortable we've had at FSC centres, staff were brilliant - helpful and very friendly. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

4 Star PicA wonderful location and well set out centre. Staff were helpful and welcoming. The family did find that the food was not as good as in other centres. There was never quite enough, especially when you are doing a lot of physical activity. The food also seemed to be very processed carb heavy which leaves you feeling lethargic. Having said that, due to the price paid this is certainly not a complaint and going to the shop to buy porridge which the staff kindly lent me a container to cook it in was not a problem. Really enjoyed the crabbing and rocky shores activities. (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

5 Star PicWe had a fantastic time at Dale Fort this summer. The location of the centre could not be better- beautiful beaches just minutes away and the Pembrokeshire coastal path passing the door. We stayed at Dale Fort for a week with our two children - Boy 14 and Girl 15. At first they felt they were a little old for this type of holiday but once they hooked up with other teens they were happy to head off to the beach, play pool or sit at the jetty chatting. The week we were there the children ages ranged from 2-15yrs. There were a complete mixture of families too. The facilities at the Fort were good- Common room with games, pool table and TV, bar, adult lounge, library with local maps and computer access, sports equipment (cricket set, football etc) that could be loaned and a small field. The food was OK/good. My son loved it as it was quite plain- cottage pie, homemade pizza, quiche etc. At times the dining hall was very busy, if you went a little later food was often luke warm. This was our only niggle. The pack lunch was excellent with lots of choice and homemade cakes/cookies...not a crisp or a chocolate bar in sight! The activities and staff were great. We loved going out on the RIB; this was a great activity for teens. It was also good to have experts with us to do the sea-shore safari. I never knew seaweed could be so interesting or I would be identifying different types of anemones after just an hour! AS a family we made the most of the local area. The water sports in Dale village (10 mins walk) were excellent. We visited Picton Casle and St Davids, otherwise the car stayed in the car park and we walked to the beaches in Marloes and West Dale. The best beach, and our find of the holiday, was the beach at Watwick Bay -25 mins walk from the Fort along the coastal path. You will not find a better beach in the world... golden sand and turquoise water surrounded by the beautiful Pembrokeshire coastline. A fantastic holiday- we were also blessed with 7 days of sunshine, so we returned home with great tans too! (Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

5 Star PicWhat a stunning location, a long drive, but well worth it!(Dale Fort, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

 

Real Family Holiday Orielton, Pembrokeshire 2016 Reviews:

3 Star PicOverall we had a lovely holiday although we found that the time of activities (just before tea) didn't work as well for us as the morning sessions we had at Millport and Boxhill. Having only one child with us we found that the early morning activities helped create bonds with other children early on in the holiday and a camaraderie between families. The food was fine, some delicious, though I was a little disappointed that gluten free bread wasn't available as it had been at the Boxhill site, as I had put down my intolerance to wheat when asked on the form. Orielton was a fab location to explore the Pembrokeshire coast which was stunning, and the grounds themselves great to explore - we loved the night walk and got to see and hear bats on site - brill! (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, August 2016)

5 Star PicWhy go abroad when we have such stunning coastline in so close to home? The weather - yes we had 55mm land in one day but the rest of the week was glorious, the food was home cooked and the whole experience is still cheaper than an empty room at a Travelodge! (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, July 2016)

5 Star PicWe had a wonderful five days at Orielton this July. It was everything we have come to expect from Real Family Holidays - fantastic staff, beautiful location, fun with other families, comfortable rooms and great food. The beaches nearby were stunning and we spent most of the week on them. The only gripe I have is that the activities were at 4pm every day so most families including ourselves missed them, but due to its beach location most families would want to get straight to the beaches every morning to get a parking space. However I would like to suggest that evening activities would be a great alternative, giving us the chance to bond with other families which we didn't get to do this holiday, such as a camp fire, games, mammal trapping etc. The bat walk we had one night was great and most families took part. More of this please! (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, July 2016)

3 Star PicThis centre was not our favourite unfortunately running the activities in the afternoon does not work well , but we enjoyed the visit to Skoma Island. It is in a lovely setting and my grandson made friends who we still see. (Orielton, Pembrokeshire, July 2016)

5 Star PicI had another fantastic Real Family holiday. Again, I really appreciated not having to do any cooking, washing up or thinking about what to do each day - so it was a completely relaxing holiday for me. My children (girl aged 10 and boy aged 11) really enjoyed the activities - but they are probably at the upper age range in terms of suitability. Especially enjoyed the extra activity - boat trip to Skomer Island which was the highlight of the holiday. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience, which I would recommend.

5 Star PicSuperb centre in such a lovely location and offering great amenities for children and adults. The grounds were beautiful. GREAT HOLIDAY!

Real Family Holiday Rhyd-y-Creaua, Snowdonia 2016 Reviews:

5 Star PicFabulous holiday - kids cant wait to return. Staff all so lovely. Food was fab. Complete rest for me as a Single Mum! Lovely area with wonderful walks locally (Snowdonia, August 2016)

4 Star PicWe all enjoyed our recent summer holiday at Rhyd-y-Creuau. The centre is set in a beautiful area with lots of attractions nearby. Within the grounds there is plenty of space for children to run freely and enjoy the outdoors. Within the buildings there are two kids rooms and other communal areas for relaxing in. The children enjoyed playing table tennis and relaxing in the tv den. It was also useful to be able to use a fridge in the adults lounge and to take our own wine to dinner. The leaders were all excellent - enthusiastic, motivated and patient. The activities were for the most part good fun, but there were quite a few we had done already from previous Real Family Holidays. It would be wonderful if there could be activities for older children (perhaps 10+) as otherwise the only people learning anything are the very young ones, with all activities moving at their pace. The catering staff and menus were wonderful. Great food and choices. Fresh vegetables would have been good. Our room was comfortable enough for the four of us with some space to store things and an ensuite, but the mattresses were terribly wiry and uncomfortable (as they were also at Kindrogan in July). it may seem of small importance, but after a full-on day, it is good to have a comfortable bed to collapse in to. Overall 4 stars. Basic accommodation. Excellent food. Beautiful setting. Wonderful leaders. (Snowdonia, August 2016)

5 Star PicWe had a fantastic 3 day stay. The food was excellent and plentiful. The common areas were modern, clean and comfortable. As parents, we appreciated the cellar games room! Our bedroom was functional, roomy and clean. The staff were very helpful, we really enjoyed the activities. It's also very well located for Betws-y-Coed and Snowdonia. We will definitely return. (Snowdonia, August 2016)

5 Star PicFriendly and helpful staff. Excellent food like the other centres we have been to and facilities as expected. Centre is in a brillient location and activities are suited to my children. (Snowdonia, August 2016)

5 Star PicFantastic location, activities, accommodation and food. This is our third year of real family holidays and Snowdonia is our favourite. A truly brilliant family holiday!!(Snowdonia, August 2016)

5 Star PicAn amazing place with very helpful and positive staff. Fabulous evening meals and facilities. Staff that were happy to help in any way. My suggestion would be to not use processed long life bread as it really is bad for you. We did not join in any of the activities at this centre due to having plans of our own. I would very much like to return to this centre. (Snowdonia, August 2016)

4 Star PicLovely holiday - a shame we could only stay for 3 days. The centre is in a wonderful location with lots to do nearby. Impressed by efforts made to be eco-friendly. Food good and plentiful. Activities were enjoyable and engaged the whole family. A special mention goes to the excellent course leaders. We all want to go back next year. (Snowdonia, August 2016)

 

5 Star PicWe have had another amazing week. The boys had fun with their friends. They especially enjoyed being in the river finding fish and skimming stones! We made a great bird box too! The food was fab and all the staff so friendly and welcoming. (Snowdonia, August 2016)

Real Family Holiday Malham Tarn, Yorkshire Dales 2016 Reviews:

We have enjoyed our time a lot here. Thanks for giving us such lovely experiences. We are going back happier, healthier and more active. (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

5 Star PicAfter reading all the amazing reviews we decided to book our very first Real Family Holiday for the summer break! We had an amazing time and love being so close to nature - we spotted deers while walking back to our accommodation. Our windows had views of the grassland and sheep. We spotted swallows feeding their young and the kids were chasing after a rabbit! As a family with dairy (milk) and egg allergies we were really impressed after talking to the chef as all the meals were clearly labelled with all the allergens. The staff made sure the kids had suitable alternatives including sorbets!! The kids made lots of friends and we really enjoyed the activities the centre offered. From mini raft building for the toy ducks and actual raft racing the next day, amazing rocket building and launching, mammal trapping, pond-dipping and shelter building. It was a summer full of adventure and memories!(Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

5 Star Pic Once again, an excellent family holiday experience in a truly inspiring location. Great accommodation and food, a friendly welcome and the great outdoors on your doorstep. We are looking forward to coming back.(Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

5 Star Pic"Wow" is the word I would use to describe Malham Tarn. This was our third Real Family Holiday having been to Juniper Hall and Kindrogan previously. The outstanding food is something I would highlight here. It was amazing. Nothing was too much for the catering staff and the quality, quantity and choice was exemplary at every meal. Well done catering staff. The accommodation we were allocated was in the High Stable and whilst it was a little bit "damp" some mornings and could do with a dehumidifier, on the whole the standard was fine with a decent ensuite and big room with comfy beds. The High Stables common room/bar was a bonus and the kids loved it. Activities were fine. I do need to comment though on the Harry Potter Walk. This was described to us a gentle downhill stroll. Do not be fooled. This is a very strenuous 5 hour walk over unmade paths and moors to Malham. If you have any kind of problem with your knees, ankles, hips or back I would not recommend this at all. Large sections of the walk were clambering down long runs of "steps" which were not actually steps but rocks with no hand rails. If you are relatively fit and have no health issues it is a wonderful walk with absolutely stunning scenery, but if, like me, you are a sedentary worker with arthritic knees do not attempt this. I would also recommend that if you are coming from the north do not follow the driving instructions the centre provides which take you through Giggleswick. This road is a long series of very tight roads with up and downhill sections as step as 1 in 6. My brakes were screaming and smoking! Use the route through Malham village. Whilst this is slightly longer it is a much easier drive. I would recommend Malham Tarn and will certainly be hoping to return (just not on the Harry Potter Walk!) (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

5 Star PicFantastic quiet location in a magnificent building. Suggest leaving some cleaning materials in the kitchen so people can clean spilages etc. (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

4 Star PicBeautiful location,great activities,amazing food!We were truly in awe with the quality of food in Malham,and the amazing location.Couldn't fault it! (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

5 Star PicWe all had a brilliant time. The activities were great. Accommodation was as we expected, having stayed at Juniper Hall previously, however,it was great to have an ensuite this time. Food was good and it was gluten free diet was catered for. Already looking forward to next year! (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

5 Star PicThe best holiday for all of our family - all the facilities were great, the food was good, the place was clean and comfortable, the activities were perfectly pitched at all ages and all the staff, from reception, to kitchen, to the field experts were all enthusiastic, happy and helpful. We've been struggling to come up with anything that could be improved and we've failed. Really really good holiday, thank you so much. (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

4 Star PicWe had a fabulous holiday at Malham Tarn, there was so much to do and see in terms of beautiful walks and scenery that we didn't have time to do it all - the location was fantastic. The staff were wonderful and my children enjoyed all the activities and we participated in most of them. The highlight was the Harry Potter walk, it was a genius idea to combine it with geocaching so that rather than complaining about tired legs the children were running ahead of the adults! On a less positive note, we did have issue with the room when we moved in as it was cobwebby and dusty and it was clear the cupboards had not been cleaned inside at all. The staff did find us a better room however and moved all our luggage for us the very next day and we were quite happy with the alternative room. We also had issue with the food - we are not fussy eaters and have greatly enjoyed the meals we've had at other centres (Slapton Leys, Orielton, Juniper Hall and Nettlecombe Court) but I have to say the food at this centre was not up to standard. The meat pies and sandwich meat were lovely but other food not so much. The apple crumble tasted of curry (did they use cumin instead of cinnamon perhaps?), very little veg was provided and that was all frozen veg, same breakfast with very poor quality sausages every day, tinned fruit cocktail for at least half the week's puddings, and even some of the afternoon cakes were inedible. Sandwich fillings had far too much mayonnaise mixed into them. One of my sons lived on sandwiches and sweets most of the week. Sorry but this does need addressing! Finally the crockery and cutlery were less than clean, often bits could be found on them, you'd have to sort through to find a clean bowl or knife and fork. I did bring this up with the catering manager however and I did notice an improvement. After complaining about this and the room however I did not have the heart to complain about the food as well as the catering manager was such a lovely lady! (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

4 Star PicOur second holiday after going to Juniper Hall last year. This is a wonderful location with wonderfully attentive staff and good food. We all had a great time. (Yorkshire Dales, August 2016)

 Real Family Holiday Box Hill, Surrey 2016 Reviews:

5 Star PicWe spent a great 5 days at the Juniper Hall (Box Hill) centre in April 2016. It's in a lovely setting but isn't as remote as the other centres we've visited. There's a very good common/games room (containing the kitchen area) though it can get a bit noisy with the table football/air hockey games! There's also a common room with a TV and piano, and the library was opened for guests use. The kids really enjoyed the games room and also playing on the lawn - using the games / activates the centre provided. We've enjoyed the food at the other centres, but have to say that the food here was the best of those we've visited. They even had a salad bar - and a good selection of desserts. As with other trips, we found the tutors and support staff were all friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. The inclusive activities were very good - the kids even preferred staying for Wild Art with their friends, rather than visit Chessington World! As with other RFH we've met new friends - but we also saw some old ones - and are already looking forward to seeing them during our next trip. It's yet another centre we'd love to return to, and would definitely recommend.

5 Star PicMy family and I have just returned from Juniper Hall and have had an amazing time. The staff could not do enough for us. I had my parents with me and they went out of their way to accommodate them when they said that the stairs were a bit of a struggle. Actually they were fine. The activities on offer were brilliant and all the staff are so approachable and lovely. The food too was delicious, we are vegetarians and were not disappointed on what was on offer each day and it was so fresh. I just wish we had more time there, the week flew by and what a setting - wow, we will be back. Have already booked another location for the summer. Thank you Real Family Holidays for a wonderful relaxing holiday, don't change a thing. (Box Hill, Surrey, April 2016)

3 Star PicHaving thoroughly enjoyed our last two holidays with Real Family Holidays I had high hopes of this one. The weather did not help, to be fair, as it rained all week turning the hills to mud, and there was little to do in the way of indoor activities and attractions locally - I think in hindsight I'll stick to summer bookings in future and hope for good weather. But what really spoilt it for us this time was the behaviour of some of the children and the disrespect they showed to Juniper Hall. I know this is not your fault but it did spoil our holiday. My kids were afraid to go downstairs as the kids were riotous, super-noisy, rude, and made a disgraceful mess of the kitchen with no parents in sight who were supposed to be supervising. Drinks were spilt on the wooden floor and not cleaned up with kids running through them, cups were left everywhere, by adults as well as children, and we didn't enjoy the conpany of other families as much as we did on previous holidays. I did try to clean up other peoples' mess as best I could but only one other parent was helping me. I'm not sure what the answer to this is! We have another holiday booked with you for the summer and I'm hoping this will be more what we are used to expecting from Real Family Holidays. (Box Hill, Surrey, April 2016)

4 Star PicWe all had such an amazing time- great activities for children. Met some lovely people and staff on site so friendly. Would be even better if: list of what you need for each activity could be put up with the signing up sheet and the activites last the allocated time as many of the activies only lasted just over an hour instead of the suggested 2 hours. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2016)

4 Star PicStaff are most helpful and friendly. Breakfast is often served later than discribed. Selection/Variations of food is somewhat less than Dale Fort and Orielton. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2016)

4 Star PicWe had a lovely time at Juniper Hall in August 2016. The staff were friendly and helpful and the activities were great. We liked the Wild Art and the Minibeasts activities especially. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2016)

5 Star PicOur first Real Family holiday was exactly what we had hoped for. Outdoor, old fashioned play with children taking their first steps to independence. I will be make sure I set my calendar to ensure I book up again on the day that the dates get released next year. (Box Hill, Surrey, April 2016)

4 Star PicWelcoming environment and engaging range of activities for the whole family. (Box Hill, Surrey, April 2016)

5 Star PicIt was great holiday, good food, nice cake, we all loves that holiday. (Box Hill, Surrey, August 2016)

 

Real Family Holiday Millport, Scottish Islands 2016 Reviews:

5 Star PicHad an amazing time - wonderful food, great location, lovely families to meet providing instant new friends for the children, but most of all the most brilliant, Fun, informative and sincere staff; can't praise them enough. Looking foward to our next holiday in Snowdonia. (Scottish Islands, March 2016)

5 Star PicWe loved our Easter break in Millport!  The accomodation was great as was the food.  We did at least 2 activities every day and they were well run, interesting and educational.  We enjoyed them just as much as the children!  The activity leaders were excellent too.  We'll be back! (Scottish Islands, March 2016)

 4 Star PicWe went on our second Real Family Holiday in Easter to Great Cumbrae. We all enjoyed reaching the island by ferry. The ferry crossings are quick and regular and the cost for taking a car across has come down. Harbour porpoises can often be seen accompanying the ferry! (Scottish Islands, March 2016)

 5 Star PicWe had such a great week at Millport. The staff here are so knowledgeable, it was a pleasure to be in their company, they ran the activities with enthusiasm and excitement, which filtered through to the families. Rooms were spotless and well equipped. Food was fabulous and catering staff were do friendly and happy to help. Glad we discovered Millport! (Scottish Islands, July 2016)

 Real Family Holiday Kindrogan, Scottish Highlands 2016 Reviews:

5 Star PicWe decided to go on a real family holiday with our two girls (19 months and 4 1/2) as they enjoy being outside. Although a lot of the activities are aimed at older children I feel like there was still plenty for us to do. Even the youngest member of our family was included (thanks the the staff). We had so much fun and it felt like we really spent quality time together. Although facilities are basic they were clean. Food was plentiful, especially cakes! I feel it was really great value for money and lots of fun. Happy memories! Thanks (Scottish Highlands, August 2016)

5 Star PicThe activities were fantastic and the best of all the centres with a real community feel here that the staff facilitated with their inclusive nature and enthusiasm for their work. Great food and a fab location. Really hope to return. (Scottish Highlands, August 2016)

5 Star PicWe would struggle to find fault with our week at kindrogan, it was an amazing week. The location is beautiful, the house is set in such peaceful and stunning scenery it is a real treat. Our accommodation was comfortable and clean, as was the whole house. The staff were all superb - tutors, hospitality, catering... Everyone went out of their way to make it a thoroughly enjoyable time. The kitchen staff were amazing and produced tasty meals and cakes every day! We loved the activities, which were expertly and competently run. We loved the wildlife, the squirrels, birds, deer and pine martin made it a memorable stay. (Scottish Highlands, July 2016)

4 Star Pic This was our second Real Family Holiday having been at Juniper Hall last year. The standard of the accommodation varies greatly depending upon whether you are in one of the refurbished rooms or not. The refurbished rooms are very nice indeed with great touches such as personal lights in each bunk. The older rooms are what I would call "1970s youth hostel" and need some money spending to upgrade them. The activities were good. My children are older and found the Ropes course and the Leap of Faith to be enjoyable. They very much enjoyed the raft building and sailing it on the loch ss well. The centre activity staff were very good with the kids. The grounds at Kindrogan are wonderful. There is a river running through the grounds which is easy for the kids to play in and a lovely wooded area is also easily accessible. The real bonus to this place is the wildlife. Red squirrels are everywhere and we saw wild deer on the lawn early morning and pine martins in the evening. The two negative points about Kindrogan that I do have to share are firstly the quality of the food. This wasn't a patch on the food we had at Juniper Hall nor the food we had the following week at Malham Tarn. Although special diets were catered for I did feel it was a big struggle for the staff to accommodate a simple request for plain pasta rather than pasta with sauce on. Also, my daughter asked for chicken one night and was told we couldn't have it because it was halal and only for the halal people. The other negative point is the fact that the bar at Kindrogan had an adults only bar. Whilst I appreciate this is what some people want when school trips are catered for, when you are a single parent with a child you do not come on holiday for the child to sit on their own in the kids lounge and you to sit on your own in the adults lounge. (Scottish Highlands, July 2016)

4 Star PicAccommodation excellent, food excellent, staff knowledgeable, approachable and incredibly patient with the kids (Ben in particular!). Campfire was fun, bushcraft skills got a bit boring for the kids, would have liked perhaps another few skills rather than just trying to make fire for two hours. Low ropes were great fun. Thought the commonroom for the kids was a bit sparse. I understand lots of kids use it and they obviously haven't taken care of it but maybe there should be a bit more emphasis on the parents to ask them to leave it as they found it and put a few more games etc in there. All in all, a great weekend and we're hoping to return. (Scottish Highlands, August 2016)

5 Star PicThis was my first time visiting an FSC site and I can't wait to go back. Kindrogan has the advantage of being in an absolutely stunning setting and you don't have to leave the site to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and wildlife (red squirrel sightings pretty much guaranteed). There is loads of open space and woodland for children to explore in the immediate vicinity of the house itself and plenty of room for ballgames etc. We were in a new room in the courtyard and the room was perfect, far exceeding our expectations, with a generous ensuite bathroom. Staff were without exception fantastic both in the house and on activities. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. Evening meals were very tasty but with more limited choice of 3 mains (including one veggie)so fussy children could be an issue. Puddings were delicious. You make your own packed lunch from bread/wraps and a basic selection of fillings, choice of salad, and a homebake so remember to bring packed lunch bags/tupperware. We did think that when it drizzled almost constantly throughout our bushcraft session, thereby making lighting a fire with a flint almost impossible, they would have had an alternative activity up their sleeves rather than us getting blisters persisting unsuccessfully for an hour in our fire lighting efforts while our children got very bored, but otherwise activities were fantastic - low ropes a particular hit. Kids loved their stay, I loved it. Brilliant value. Highly recommended although for this part of Scotland in August remember to pack the midge repellent! (Scottish Highlands, August 2016)

Real Family Holiday Slapton Ley, Devon 2016 Reviews: 

5 Star PicMy children and I had an amazing time at Slapton Ley. The facilities were clean and very good. The food was delicious and varied with a few options each day to choose from. The lovely staff even offered to make my (fussy eater) son something completely different so he didn't go hungry one day. The staff who took us out for the activities were simply amazing. They were knowledgable, patient, caring and friendly. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The set up was perfect for us; the right balance between structure, with meal times and activities, and free time to explore the area. We will definitely be back next year. (Devon, August 2016)

5 Star PicJust spent 3 brilliant days at Start Bay, Slapton Ley. It's the first time we have been on a holiday of this type and it most definitely won't be the last!
The centre, the facilities, the activities and the staff all get a 5* rating. I attended with my 10yr and 19yr old girl's, my first away with them on my own.  All the guests and staff were super friendly. The value for money; we thought it was too good to be true- surely something must be lacking!How wrong were we!!!
We were so amazed by the delicious food, blown away by the very friendly,helpful and kind staff members (exceptional customer service!)and super comfy beds. All the activities were geared around the whole family- great fun whilst being sympathetic to the environment. Can't thank them enough for a fun, relaxing and most enjoyable holiday. (Devon, August 2016)

5 Star PicLovely location. Great food and plenty to do (Devon, August 2016)

Real Family Holiday Start Bay, Devon 2016 Reviews:

3 Star PicVery small property,in such a difficult to get to and go out of place,that makes you feel claustrophobic.Also the size of the rooms could improve.Lovely playground and space outside,that the kids could take full advantage of.The staff were amazing,great catering team and activities leaders!Wonderful,fun,engaging!Would recommend if you are happy with the small spaces,your children will enjoy it!! (Devon, August 2016)

5 Star PicWe had a lovely time at Start Bay in July 2016. The centre is small and friendly and the children (and adults) liked the low ropes course at the bottom of the garden, and the activity trailer run by the FSC on the nearby beach. Be aware that all the local beaches are shingle, and that the narrow roads means a 45 minute drive only gets you 15 miles. The staff were great and the activities were very fun. (Devon, August 2016)

5 Star PicOur family of 4 had a wonderful week at Start Bay and would highly recommend it. Particular highlights include the enthusiastic and experienced activity leader and the fabulous garden with a ropes course that the children loved . You definitely need a car for this holiday , the beach was a 10 - 15 drive away, and the roads are quite narrow which makes trips out not particularly relaxing! We were lucky enough to get an en- suite room, which makes all the difference with children. I'm not sure I'd return unless we knew we would be lucky again. Although all the communal bathrooms and toilets were kept clean The food was OK, and even if the meals were fairly basic it was brilliant not to have to think about cooking and washing up for a week. We had a great time and will be planning our next years real family holiday ASAP! (Devon, August 2016)

5 Star Pic Once again RFH have lived up to expectations! The beach activities were so much fun. The food and hospitality were second to none thanks to the staff. We have also made many lovely new friends. (Devon, August 2016)

5 Star PicAnother fabulous holiday at Start Bay. It is a fabulous venue for your Real Family Holidays. The food is fabulous, and the activities are great. Thank you! (Devon, October 2016)

4 Star PicInspired by last year's long weekend - we went for a full week! Centre is a little isolated and it would have been good to have more than one activity per day. The activities offered were great fun and taught us a lot about the natural environment we were in. From dormice nesting boxes to bat walks and campfires. Also took part in a few non RFH activities including an awesome canoe paddle on Slapton Ley - such a privilege! (Devon, July 2016)

 

See Real Family Holiday 2014 reviews

See Real Family Holiday 2015 reviews

About customer reviews

Leave your review

 

Book Your Trip